The first time I chose sugar over salt

run away with me

into the woods where it’s quiet and still

then touch my heart lightly, my skull firmly

bring your mind and your love but leave anything that feels like a weight you can’t carry and let the lightness remind you of the release

of the weight of this clumsy dance we do to please aliens

because our grace is invisible

our songs assonant; our eyes miscalibrated our thoughts misallocated

they call us jigsaws but you’re a fucking diamond who cares about the setting when your shine is that radiant

press your edges into me and i’ll find the give to hold you firmly with the softness they’ll never value but is all you see in me

Leave a Reply

